Skip to main content
July 23, 2018 ...

News

• Registration is currently closed.
    If you wish to register please use the contact form.

Topic: Skipping motor (Read 559 times) previous topic - next topic

Skipping motor
Hello, all. I've joined this forum in an effort to try and get my machine working. Just got it yesterday after ordering through their original Kickstarter back in June of 2016. I got it to be sent out after e-mailing a specific person at 101hero.com that I saw posted either in the Kickstarter comments or on Facebook. I had tried to contact them numerous other ways prior to that without success. Enough complaining about the wait. Now on to complaining about the machine.

I'm a novice to 3d printing and figured a printer like this was intended for someone like me. In fact, the box says an 8-year-old should be able to use it. I had plenty of time to read through all of the cautions about not moving things while the power is on and routing wires properly prior to assembling this thing during my long wait. So, I carefully put it together with those kinds of things in mind. Tried using the test file to adjust the screws, but couldn't ever get the nozzle to remain level to the glass plate. It would always drift up toward one of the pylons. Observing the head and the motor, it appears that I received a motor that skips. It seems this is a common problem. Here's a video of the motor test file from the official website trying to run:

https://youtu.be/RO_yiv4ZbJ4

I have contacted the company again, but do not have high hope that much will come from that. What I would like to know is if this actually appears to be a "skipping motor" like it seems many others have received or if I need to do something differently. Also, I've been reading around here and it appears that sourcing a replacement on my own isn't a simple task. What are my options? Thanks!

• Admin
  • [*][*][*][*][*]
  • Administrator
Re: Skipping motor
Reply #1